Home / Tag Archives: Bye-election

Tag Archives: Bye-election

August, 2012

  • 11 August

    BCP’s Ali McIntosh in the race

    Adding her name to the mix of candidates to contest the upcoming bye-election in North Abaco, Ali McIntosh, “Servant Leader” of the Bahamas Constitution Party (BCP), is seeking to provide for the inclusion in Parliament of the voice of third parties, “so that other divergent and also conservative views may be available.” The former Prime Minister, the Right Honorable Hubert Ingraham, handed in a letter to Parliament on July 19 setting the date of his resignation for August 31, 2012.

  • 11 August

    Renardo Curry

    Undeterred from the results of the General Election in May, Renardo Curry – the candidate for North Abaco for the Progressive Liberal Party (PLP), has focused his time on assisting the government in attracting investors to the North Abaco area while waiting for the upcoming bye-election. “The greatest need right now is jobs,” Mr. Curry noted. “I have been actively pursuing investors, as that is one of the quickest ways we can provide jobs for our people and presently I have some good leads.”

  • 11 August

    Greg Gomez

    The recently ratified candidate for the Free National Movement (FNM) in North Abaco is ready to continue to “build on the foundation started by Mr. Ingraham” as he seeks to bring all Abaconians together as one in the upcoming by-elections. A native Abaconian, Greg Gomez was educated at Dundas Town Primary, later graduating from Abaco Central High. He continued his education at Langston University in Langston, Oklahoma where he studied business administration.

  • 11 August

    Cay Mills

    Declaring his bid to run as an independent candidate in the North Abaco by-elections, Cay Mills shared what he called a “flawed” and “unfair process” undertaken by the Free National Movement (FNM) in selecting their candidate. According to Mr. Mills the process of selecting the FNM’s candidate for North Abaco began with Perry Thomas, Jackson McIntosh and himself, with John Swain being considered at one point before withdrawing himself from the race. After seven weeks of waiting, which he said was supposed to have been two; Greg Gomez’s name was added to the list.

  • 11 August

    North Abaco Bye-election to be contested by four candidates

    The constituents of North Abaco will elect a new Member of Parliament in the upcoming by-election. The Right Honourable Hubert A. Ingraham has held onto the North Abaco Constituency since 1977, being returned each year and representing both the Progressive Liberal Party in his first years and the Free National Movement most recently. He also won as an independent in 1987. This 2012 by-election will mark the first time in nearly thirty five years that voters will elect a new Member of Parliament to represent them. The voters will have a choice of four candidates.