Home / Sports / Fierce Competition Defines Flag Football Champs
The Hope Town/Man-O-War Sharks emerged victorious in the Senior Division.

Fierce Competition Defines Flag Football Champs

On February 9, the Abaco Youth Football Association (AYFA) finished out the season with exciting Championship Games full of intense competition crowning both new and repeat champions.

Before the gameday action began the league presented a framed jersey to the parents of the dearly departed Kale Pinder to honour his memory. Kale was an avid sports enthusiast who had a special love for football as well as for his family and friends.

In Peewee Division competition the number one seed, and undefeated Champs – the Marsh Harbour WildHawgs – took on the number two seed Man-O-War Makos. The game started slowly but the WildHawgs paced themselves to a convincing victory over the Makos, winning 32 to 6.

Above: Coach Chris Pinder on behalf of the league presenting a framed jersey to the parents of the late Kale Pinder to honour his memory.
Left: Junior Champions the Green Turtle Falcons.

In the Junior Division the last year’s champs, the Green Turtle Cay Falcons came in as the second seed to face the WildHawgs who captured the number one seed during the season.

The game was a defensive battle first but in the second half teams traded scores but it was the Falcons who scored the last points of the game and staved off the WildHawgs to emerge victorious, 25 to 20.

Kaiden Knowles of the WildHawgs won the MVP award after a stellar performance playing multiple positions including Wide Receiver and Quarterback.

Young Reagan Smith of the Falcons, who plays both Wide Receiver and Defense captured the MVP honors for the Championship Game.

In the Senior Division the Number one seed and Champs WildHawgs took on the number two seed Hope Town/Man-O-War Sharks in a game that was ultimately a defensive battle. The teams traded interceptions for much of the game but in the end one touchdown sealed the deal for the Sharkz to emerge as this year’s Champions, defeating the WildHawgs 12 to 6.

Rashawn Joseph, another player who filled multiple roles on defense and offense, won the Senior Division’s Championship Game MVP Award.

The League congratulates this season’s champions and will be working diligently to continue to improve the program as it seeks to bring positive mentorship youth across the island. Coaches, Referees and other volunteers are in need to see AYFA continue to grow and benefit more and more kids.

The league thanks all who contributed, volunteered to referee and coach and the many parents who worked with them throughout the season.

Check Also

Balamena II Wins Regatta Time in Abaco’s Overall Trophy

By David Ralph Abaco hosted a fleet of 34 sailboats that participated in the 44th …