Home / Sports / Lady Eagles Win National Volleyball Tournament

Lady Eagles Win National Volleyball Tournament

After winning the local championship Volleyball School League, the Lady Eagles traveled to Nassau on Nov. 22 to participate in the Nationals that were being held over three days.

Once again, the Lady Eagles won the National Tournament.

The girls played six games during the tournament, winning five games and tying in one against Anatol Rodgers High School.

The championship game was disputed between the Eagles and the C.V. Bethel Stingrays. It was a tight match between the two finalists, both determined to collect the gold medal.

The Eagles won the first set 25-21, lost the second 25 to 20 and won the third, 15-5.

Several of Agape Christian School’s Lady Eagles were awarded for their performances. Clanae Davis received the MVP title as well as trophies for best scorer and best spiker. Coach Stephan Johnson also mentioned that Agape Christian School Lady Eagle Clanae Davis, because of her volleyball skills, is likely to received a full scholarship to attend the St Augustine University in Raleigh, North Carolina. Deanna McDonald was awarded for being the best server; and Summer Sands was the best setter.

Competing in Nassau in the School League Volleyball were the senior Boys Eagles, who took second place in the tournament.

According to Coach Stephan Johnson, they played a very tight championship game against Government High School’s team losing two sets by a short margin, 23-25 and 24-25. Ernest Clarke won the best setter title.

Coach Johnson, who is this year’s co-President of the Abaco School Sports Association (ASSA), is not only proud of his athletes, but also of the achievement of the Patrick J. Bethel High School Marlins, who placed fourth in the Nationals, losing in a try for the bronze medal. Marlin Daryl Russell was awarded as best spiker for the boys.

These two schools’ achievements demonstrated that Abaco athletes are forces to be recognized.

Check Also

Balamena II Wins Regatta Time in Abaco’s Overall Trophy

By David Ralph Abaco hosted a fleet of 34 sailboats that participated in the 44th …