Home / Featured / Central Abaco District Council and Related Committees Sworn In
Dale Hill, Gilbert Davis, Beverly Bethel, Cecil Ingraham (back), Chalres Moss - Island Administrator - George Cornish, Faron Newbold, Roscoe Thompson III, Cubel Davis, Dexter Russell.

Central Abaco District Council and Related Committees Sworn In

The Central Abaco District Council, along with the related Town Committees from Dundas Town, Murphy Town and Marsh Harbour, were sworn in on July 3 at the Government Complex, and completed at a second meeting on July 5.

Prior to the activities of the evening taking place, Member of Parliament for Central and South Abaco and Parliamentary Secretary, James Albury spoke offering congratulations and committing to work closely with the various Committees and Council in the coming years. He encouraged them to work hard and do their best to make their communities better.

George Cornish was returned for a third time as Central Abaco District Council’s Chief Councillor and Gilbert Davis as the Deputy. Among those being sworn is as Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Town Committees were Gilbert Davis as Chair and Akeem Williams as Deputy of Murphy Town; Faron Newbold as Chair and Claire Basden as Deputy in Dundas Town; and Roscoe Thompson III as Chair and Dexter Russell as Deputy for Marsh Harbour.

The Council will be made up of George Cornish, Faron Newbold, Cecil Ingraham, Gilbert Davis, Cubel Davis, Roscoe Thompson III, Dexter Russell, Dale Hill and Beverly Bethel.

After members of each town committee were sworn in they voted for their chairman and deputy chairman, but Marsh Harbour/Spring City Town Committee delayed their voting until an absent member away on vacation returned. They completed the swearing in and selection for Chair and Deputy and Council Members on July 5.

Mr. Thompson noted his dissatisfaction with the swearing in process saying that there were no official notifications given for the swearing in, and that the procedures used during the swearing in were incorrect, noting that members took the Oath of Office together instead of individually.

Additionally he said that he and his members were unaware that the Council would meet and swear-in the Chief and Deputy Chief Council right after the Marsh Harbour/Spring City Town Committee’s final swearing-in. He said that he was not even given time to caucus with members prior to a motion being put to the floor.

After the swearing in was complete members all gave thanks for the voters that put trust in them and committed to doing their job for the people who elected them.

Chief Councillor George Cornish said that he is honoured to serve the people of Central Abaco for the third time as their Chief.

“I thank the almighty God first, my family, my colleagues, and finally the good people of Dundas Town for their great support and the confidence they have showed me over the last 18 years in electing me,” he said.

He said he looks forward to serving the Central District with excellence and pride. “We have accomplished a lot over the years, but we have a much work ahead of us, and I am confident that I, and the team are ready to begin work for the District.”

He advised the public that Local Government meetings are open to the public, “so you can attend, and know what’s going on in your community. Meeting dates will be published so you can know when and when they are held.”

He said with the public’s help, “we can succeed in our goals this term. We look forward to serving you, and may God bless you all.”

Check Also

Maxwell’s Supermarket Reopens in Wake of Dorian

Maxwell’s Supermarket opened its doors to the public once again on Thursday, October 7, 2019 …

Leave a Reply