Home / News / Local / Toastmasters receive awards at ceremony

Toastmasters receive awards at ceremony

On June 28, Toastmasters’ Abaco Lighthouse Beamers members and guests were invited to attend the 2011-2012 Night of the Stars Awards Ceremony at the Conch Inn.

Distinguished Toastmaster and incoming President for 2012-2013 – Jamaro Thompson – opened the meeting. The first item on the agenda was the Table Topics question, “What gets you hot?” followed by a competition for students involved in the Toastmasters International’s Youth Leadership Program. They were Glenn Fernander of St. Francis de Sales School, DeShane Knowles of Forest Heights Academy and Akeem Adderley of Abaco Central High School. Although they are both students of Agape Christian School, Maxine and Ebony Bass served under the Forest Heights Academy program.

The students participated in a Table Topics Competition, and were given two minutes to respond to the topic: “Destined for Greatness.”

In her impromptu speech, Bass told the audience that being destined for greatness is something she can feel in her bones and in everything she does. Recalling what they were told by Rich Roberts, who was the guest speaker at her graduation, Bass said they were told to remember the little things instead of only looking at the big picture.

“It’s the little things that make a change,” she said. “I believe the little things are the steps to greatness.”

All of the students gave speeches, but it was Maxine Bass who walked away with the prize. They all received certificates for their participation and completion of the Youth Leadership Program.

Moving on, Toastmaster Julieth Stuart-McCafferty joined Thompson in distributing awards to the members in what he said was the first of what would become an annual awards program. The Late Again Award was received by Julieth Stuart-McCafferty; the Hot Air Award went to Taryn Russell; the All Smiles Award was given to Bekera Taylor; while the Always Misbehaving Award was bestowed upon Jamaro Thompson. The Ah/Um Award was awarded to Datus Farrington, and Athena Russell was selected as the Table Topics Speaker of the Year. Thompson received another award as the Evaluator of the Year. The Speaker of the Year Award was granted to Kenisha Cornish. Finally, the Sponsor of the Year Award was also received by Stuart-McCafferty.

Perhaps the most coveted of the awards, the Spirit of Excellence Award was accepted by Brittany Smith, who gave a speech entitled “Junkanoo” shortly after receiving her award. It was an engaging speech that spoke to the emotions of her colleagues and reignited their allegiance to their favourite Junkanoo group.

Stuart-McCafferty received added praise for her accomplishments. She was awarded as the Toastmaster of the Year, and was recognized for making history as the first area governor outside of Nassau and Freeport for the Family Islands. She has also served as past president of Toastmasters.

Additionally, Thompson applauded the 2012-2013 executive team, which is comprised of: Travis McDonald, Sergeant of Arms; Jasmine Curry, Treasurer; Brittany Smith, Secretary; Tamar Roberts, Vice President of Public Relations; Julieth Stuart-McCafferty, Vice President of Membership and Area Governor; Charmaine Bonaby, Vice President of Education; and Jamaro Thompson, President.

“One thing I ask is that this coming year be the best ever, that we have lots of fun in Toastmasters, and that we come every week to party, to learn and to set some records,” Thompson instructed.

He said it has already been a record-setting year because for the first time in Area 84, which encompasses Grand Bahama and Abaco, Abaco is leading Division I. Next year, he looks to have the No.1 club for District 47 and among all the Toastmasters Clubs around the world.

Before the ceremony ended, Toastmasters were asked to attend the annual Toastmasters International Conference, which will be held on July 14 in Grand Bahama. For those interested in attending the meetings locally, Toastmasters Abaco Lighthouse Beamers – Club 01314025 meets at 6:30 p.m. every second and fourth Thursday of the month at the Conch Inn.

Check Also

PM Holds Town Halls in Man-O-War & Hope Town

Prime Minister Minnis continued his series of Town Hall meetings in the Abaco Cays Nov …

Leave a Reply